Add and manage secure tunnels in the Polaris UI

Black Duck Polaris Platform

Use Polaris Secure Tunnel, a feature of the Black Duck Bridge, to securely access web applications, APIs, and on-premises services in your private network. Secure tunnels are outbound-only encrypted connections from a machine inside a private network to Polaris, established by running Bridge with the polaris-secure-tunnel workflow. Use secure tunnels to access DAST targets (web applications and APIs), on-premise SCM servers, and integration URLs that are only accessible on a private network.

Prerequisites

Before you begin, make sure that you have:

Add a secure tunnel

Create your secure tunnel in Polaris so it can be associated with internal DAST projects and on-premises SCM integrations.

  1. Go to My Organization > Secure Tunnels.
  2. Click Create Tunnel.
  3. Enter a Name for the secure tunnel. You must reference this name when running the polaris-secure-tunnel workflow in the Bridge CLI.
  4. (Optional) Enter a Description.
    The description is displayed alongside the tunnel name in the tunnel list.
  5. Click Save.
The secure tunnel is created with a status of Disconnected by default.

Run secure tunnel in the private network

After registering the tunnel in Polaris, run the polaris-secure-tunnel workflow from the Bridge CLI from a machine inside your private network. This process connects to the specified named Teleport instance in Polaris, downloads the Teleport agent and configuration, and then runs the Teleport agent to establish a secure TLS tunnel on port 443. The secure tunnel is then connected.

From your private network, run the Bridge CLI with the polaris-secure-tunnel workflow and specify the secure tunnel name you configured in Polaris.
See Create a secure tunnel using Bridge CLI in the Bridge CLI documentation for the full command syntax and options.

Confirm the tunnel is in a Connected state

Before using a secure tunnel with DAST projects or SCM integrations, confirm that the tunnel is active. Disconnected tunnels will block SCM bulk onboarding.

  1. Go to My Organization > Secure Tunnels.
  2. In the tunnel list, confirm that the relevant tunnel shows a status of Connected.
    Note: A tunnel's status may take up to 20 minutes to update from Connected to Disconnected after a connection is closed.

Your secure tunnel is now ready to use. You can use it to access:

Edit or delete a secure tunnel in the Polaris UI

You can rename or remove a secure tunnel from the Polaris tunnel list at any time.

Important: If you change a tunnel's name, you must restart the Bridge CLI workflow using the new tunnel name.
  1. Go to My Organization > Secure Tunnels.
  2. Locate the tunnel you want to modify and click the three-dot menu (...) next to its name.
  3. Select Edit or Delete.